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We Need to Talk About Personal Branding. It’s a Game Changer.
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We Need to Talk About Personal Branding. It’s a Game Changer.

Let me ask you a question, do you trust a faceless brand or a real person?

Ali Eskandari
May 12, 2021
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Share this post
We Need to Talk About Personal Branding. It’s a Game Changer.
marketable.substack.com
Your personality is your new growth channel for your business.
“The Duchesse de Polignac in a Straw Hat" by Elisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun

“Ali, we’ve a problem,” Maryam (my friend) said. “We’re active on Twitter for more than 5 months, but nobody followed, retweet, or even liked any of our posts.”

She took a deep breath, “What the fuck is going on?”

“Ummm, you know …,” I said. “… you’re not alone. Many brands cannot get any engagement in Twitter.”

“But we need Twitter Ali,” she said. “I need to increase engagement here, many people these days look into social media to decided buy from us or not.”

“I know, but…” I said.

“But?” she stared at me.

“Let me be super honest with you, you don’t have a high chance to get very much or any engagement on Twitter.”

“So, what can we do?” she said.

“I’ve something in my mind,” I said. “Let me do a little research and I’ll get back to you tomorrow, okay?”

“Okai,” she said.

The following day, I messaged her.

“Maryan, you’d start with personal branding,” I said. “You’d every day at least one tweet and constantly engaging with other people.”

“What?” she said. “No, no, it’s not worth it man, I have more important stuff going on than Twitter.”

“I wanna show you something,” I said. And then I sent a tweet from the copy.ai Twitter account to her.

“Check this out,” I said. “What do you think?”

Twitter avatar for @copy_aicopy.ai @copy_ai
According to…me… My brand tone is between: - robotic - reliable - friendly - clever But I just wanna be snarky tbh
Image

March 4th 2021

3 Retweets26 Likes

“Ummm…” she said, “… I think it’s kinda funny you know, 3 retweets and 26 likes, not bad actually.”

“Yup,” I said. “Now, look at this tweet, it’s from the CEO of copy.ai.”

Twitter avatar for @PaulYacoubianPaul Yacoubian @PaulYacoubian
Copy.ai April Startup Update
$95,500 MRR up 26% over prior month. 28,000 signups. Added 3 new tools. Team now totals 10 after 3 hires, Phil, Diana and Daniel. Over 6.9m copy results were generated and 724k results were copy or saved. Our Facebook group increased by 600 to 1,600 and our Twitter followers increased by 2,000 to 8.7k. "Build in Public" shout out goes to @KennethCassel and @DamenGChen for going full time on Slip.so and Testimoni.al. During the month we gave back by providing over 100 free accounts to nonprofits around the world.

May 5th 2021

37 Retweets930 Likes

“He got 900 likes and around 40 retweets!” she said.

And then she sent me this emoji: 🤯

“Yeh, but hold on,” I said. And then I sent more tweets from the CMO, developers, and other team members of copy.ai to her.

After a minute or so, she asked, “So what?”

“I suck at math, but let me do a little calculation for you,” I said. “Let’s say on average every tweet gets 500 impressions and let’s assume the conversion rate from that amount of impression is 0.1%, okay?”

“Okay,” she said.

“They’re 10 people,” I said. “And let’s say they’re tweeting 5 times every week, okay?”

“Okay,” she said.

And then I started typing:

10 * 5 = 50 tweets/week
50 * 500 = 25K impression/week 
25K * 4 = 100K impression/month
0.1% of 100K = 100 new users MoM

And this is the bare minimum.

“Now, do you think is worth it or?” I asked.

*Maryam is typing…*

“Fuck yeah!”

So, how can you build your personality on Twitter?

Let’s boil down personal branding on Twitter in just 2 bullet points.

  • Pick a specific topic and start tweeting about it at the right time.

  • Join convertsations on Twitter. Engage and share your thoughts.

You just need to focus and be consistent, okay?

So, go ahead, start tweeting.

You Rock. 🤘

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